8 march 2018 International Women’s Day is celebrated in the CIS countries

The 8 March is the key women’s holiday across the Commonwealth Member Nations.

In the Azerbaijan Republic people celebrate the Women’s Day, in the Republic of Armenia – the Women’s Holiday, in the Republic of Belarus – the Women’s Day, in the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Republic of Moldova, the Russian Federation and Ukraine – the International Women’s Day, in the Republic of Tajikistan – the Mother’s Day.

The holiday originates from the many centuries of struggle for the participation in society by women, but for the first time the idea of having such a holiday was initiated only at the beginning of the 20th century.