9 may 2020 Commonwealth celebrates the 75th Anniversary of the Victory over Nazism

By the Decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Council of the USSR (of 8 May 1945) the 9th of May was declared the Victory Day.

This day is called differently in the Commonwealth states: Victory over Fascism Day in the Azerbaijan Republic, the Day of Victory and Peace in the Republic of Armenia, the Victory Day in the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic and the Russian Federation, the Day of Victory and Commemoration of the Heroes who Fell for the Independence of the Motherland in the Republic of Moldova. In the Republic of Tajikistan the date was named the Day of Victory in the Great Patriotic War and Turkmenistan named the date the Day of Victory in the Great Patriotic War of 1941–1945. The Republic of Uzbekistan celebrates the Day of Remembrance and Tribute, and the Ukraine commemorates the Day of Victory over Nazism in the Second World War.