Украина (Russian), Україна (Ukrainian), Ukraine (English)

Capital: Kiev  
Officail language:  Ukrainian
Area code: +380
Currency:  Ukrainian hryvnia (UAH), one hryvnia = 100


Verkhovna Rada

Originally called the Supreme Soviet and established in 1938. On 16 July 1990, it adopted a Declaration of National Sovreignity and on 24 August 1991 to be followed by the Act of Independence.

Seats: 450

Mandate: MPs are elected for five-year terms on a majoritarian principle through general, equal, free, direct elections with personal and secret ballot. Eligibility age is 21 years and last five-year residence requirement. Half of the house is elected under a proportionality principle (225) on party lists. The
other half is elected under a majoritarian principle/